November 22, 2008

Does grief recovery need stages?

Question: Is it true that most people most of the time go through these stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance?

Here is the answer of Russell P. Friedmann (executive director of the Grief Recovery Institute): "No study has ever established that stages of grief actually exist, and what are defined as such can’t be called stages. Grief is the normal and natural emotional response to loss… No matter how much people want to create simple, bullet-point guidelines for the human emotions of grief, there are no stages of grief that fit any two people or relationships."

More about this topic, here: Stage Fright


  1. Coert as someone who has recently lost a parent and as I mindfully live my grief experience I agree with Friedmann I'd like to add that as a society we could do a lot more at normalizing impermanence, disease, aging and death so that we can have an easier time accepting our losses and moving past them. (randa fent)


Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner